30 day book challenge- Day 22- The book that made you fall in love with reading

Roald Dahl was the man who made me fall in love with books, as I’m sure he did with so many children. Of all his works however, the book that made me fall in love with reading was undoubtedly Matilda- partially because I thought that if I read a lot I would ultimately get special powers, but mostly because I identified with someone who was a little bit of an outcast and who devoured books like there was no tomorrow. Matilda made me realize that there were more books than I could possibly ever read and I was obsessed with the idea of finishing all the books in my library. Again a book that needs no review or introduction, but my favorite scene from the film is below:

6 Responses to “30 day book challenge- Day 22- The book that made you fall in love with reading”

  1. Mine was Green Eggs & Ham…Dr. Suess of course.

  2. The lion the Witch and the Wardrobe.. What else for a little English girlxx

  3. Ahh Roald Dahl! My all time favourite children’s author. The scope of this man’s imagination absolutely blows my mind every time I think about it. Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator, The BFG, The Witches, Esio Trot, James and the Giant Peach, I could go on and on, but my point is, I also LOVED Matilda and can definitely relate to why it made you fall in love with reading. You’ve just inspired me to write a Dahl-post sometime soon. lol.

Trackbacks

Leave a comment