30 day book challenge- Day 23- A book you wanted to read for a long time but still haven’t

Any self-resepcting Tolkein aficionado should have read the Silmarillion, and despite my supposed credentials as the aforesaid I have in fact not read this book. I keep getting told that it’s absolutely awesome, and yet every time I get round to reading it something seems to get in the way. The book is a collection of J.R.R’s mythopoeic works, published and edited by posthumously by his son Christopher. It is an incomplete narrative of the formation and stories of middle-earth which makes it a perfect companion to the Lord of the Rings and the Hobbit. I would tell you more, but sadly, having comitted literary sin and still not read this, I cannot! Thus a book I have wanted to read for a long time but still haven’t.

8 Comments to “30 day book challenge- Day 23- A book you wanted to read for a long time but still haven’t”

  1. I can agree with this one. While I don’t want to read everything Tolkien has done outside of The Hobbit and LOTR, I have wanted to read The Silmarillion for quite some time – it just sounds so interesting.

    • I agree. I can’t love everything else that he has done or really want to read it, but Simarillion really is something that be on my mind. 🙂

      • I think part of the appeal of this is just the sheer self-indulgence of it. And yet, Tolkien was the sort of writer who could get away with something like this. Most writers would be torn to shreds for creating such a book.

  2. I kinda want to read the Silmarillion, but I feel like I can’t without first reading the Hobbit and LOTR. I started The Fellowship of the Ring, but kept getting bogged down with all the songs and stuff. I’m like OMG, are we still in the middle of some kind of song??

    Anyway, I have high hopes for me. Someday, I’ll get through Hobbitt and LOTR, then maybe I’ll tackle the Silmarillion.

    • Hahaha! Just skip the songs, honestly, I do as well, I don’t have the energy for them, that’s when skimming becomes excellent, but the big parts of the story are ultimately glorious. 🙂

  3. Same here. I have not read this particular book even though I have read The Hobbit and Lord of the Rings trilogy, For me, it was exhausting to get through the four books that I just worry about trying to make it through another one of his books.

  4. I did try to read this ages ago and had to give in after a couple of pages because I just found it so confusing! I’ve since been told that it’s a lot easier once you get into it. So it’s back on my To Read pile, but it might be a while yet!

    • I completely understand, I am desperate to get through it, but I too found it really confusing! what can I say, its completely exhausting to get through the first chapters! 🙂

Leave a comment