Archive for February 24th, 2012

February 24, 2012

30 day book challenge- Day 2- A book that you’ve read more than 3 times.

I still remember my mother handing me the Shadow of the Moon. It was at the start of a very hot indian summer and I was bored and restless. I was reluctant to read it (the book is massive) but also very bored, so I grudgingly began. Several years later, I have now read it at least 3 or 4 times. Every time I am swept up into its colonial world of parties and pain and misogonism. Partially because I have a love affair with colonial India and partially because I have always been horribly fascinated by the horrible years of the mutiny, I am alway gripped by this story of Winter and Alex and the implosion of the East India company. Beautifully written,Ā I still fail to comprehend how Kaye’s ‘The Far Pavillions’ achieved such success where this book did not. Copies are scarce these days but luckily my mother still has my much-thumbed copy on her shelf šŸ™‚

(Idea for this challengeĀ wantoncreation)