30 day book challenge- Day 2- A book that you’ve read more than 3 times.

I still remember my mother handing me the Shadow of the Moon. It was at the start of a very hot indian summer and I was bored and restless. I was reluctant to read it (the book is massive) but also very bored, so I grudgingly began. Several years later, I have now read it at least 3 or 4 times. Every time I am swept up into its colonial world of parties and pain and misogonism. Partially because I have a love affair with colonial India and partially because I have always been horribly fascinated by the horrible years of the mutiny, I am alway gripped by this story of Winter and Alex and the implosion of the East India company. Beautifully written, I still fail to comprehend how Kaye’s ‘The Far Pavillions’ achieved such success where this book did not. Copies are scarce these days but luckily my mother still has my much-thumbed copy on her shelf 🙂

(Idea for this challenge wantoncreation)

2 Comments to “30 day book challenge- Day 2- A book that you’ve read more than 3 times.”

  1. Wow, this book sounds really interesting, and an odd part of me likes that it is hard to find (like there’s a story behind the story). I love that you enjoyed it so much – it always says a lot when a book means so much to someone like this. 🙂

Leave a Reply

