Jodi Picoult- Part 1

I feel that I should dedicate a little time to the lovely Jodi Picoult, so the next couple of posts will be about her. This first one is about the first book I read by her- The Pact.
Goodreads Synopsis: For eighteen years the Hartes and the Golds have lived next door to each other, sharing everything from Chinese food to chicken pox to carpool duty– they’ve grown so close it seems they have always been a part of each other’s lives. Parents and children alike have been best friends, so it’s no surprise that in high school Chris and Emily’s friendship blossoms into something more. They’ve been soul mates since they were born. So when midnight calls from the hospital come in, no one is ready for the appalling truth: Emily is dead at seventeen from a gunshot wound to the head. There’s a single unspent bullet in the gun that Chris took from his father’s cabinet– a bullet that Chris tells police he intended for himself.
You may notice a pattern in my reviews in that I tend to review and write about books that I expect nothing from to start out with. The Pact was a bit like that. Even though I was recommended the book by a friend, I was dubious. It didn’t really seem like something that would be up my street. But the more I got into it, the better it was. Picoult keeps you guessing all the way until the end and even when you’re a little infuriated with the story dragging on for so long, you remain completely glued to the page, you need to know what really happened, you need to hear every last detail even if Picoult’s writing isn’t anything special.
The reason I’ve chosen to write about Picoult, and this book in particular, is that she looks at really serious issues from a completely different perspective. She makes the extraordinary ordinary, and gets into the heads of people who do things which shock and appall society and show how that person can be driven to that extreme. So it’s enjoyable in the way that reading a mass murderer’s diary is- you are so compelled by the madness of it that you can’t help but keep reading.
4 Comments to “Jodi Picoult- Part 1”

  1. I read this book a few years ago, and really enjoyed it. I gave it as a gift to a female friend of mine, and she couldn’t get past the first 5 pages. I think there is something really deep that she touched on here that, maybe, male readers don’t connect with as strongly. But for female readers, it seems to be overwhelmingly powerful, and dangerous.

    • Hmmm, curious as to your calling it dangerous, interesting, very interesting, care to elaborate? Thank you for your comment, very interesting! 🙂

      • I bought “The Pact” for a female friend as a gift. As I said, I loved it. There are some really, bone chilling, and emotional scenes here. But my friend couldn’t read it. It was too personal, because it dealt with some really sensitive subjects that she couldn’t handle. I think men may be acclimated to distancing themselves from things, but women may feel her writing much more strongly, and perhaps in cases, it’s too strong.

      • That’s a really interesting perspective and I actually can see where you’re coming from. As a woman myself I did actually find it very difficult to get through simply because it was so personal, so raw, but at the same time, that’s what I think makes Picoult great. But I hadn’t thought of it that way before 🙂

Leave a Reply

