Kindle v.s. Spine

My parents got me a Kindle for Christmas and thought my initial excitement was based mostly on a desire to stop carting around the masses and masses of university books which I take everywhere, a fellow book-loving friend was disgusted. I had offended the name of decent book readers everywhere. I was scum, bowing to popular demand. Her disgust was palpable.

Several months have passed since then, and whilst I still feel that her feelings are somewhat unneccessarily vehement, I have come to the following pro and con list for kindle..

Kindle pros

  1. Price– when you can get pretty much all the classics completely free, I’d say that is a good deal
  2. Speed– you can get books instantly whilst you’re sitting in bed sipping tea.
  3. Portability– I travel a lot, and (as previously mentioned) need large university books for studying- the kindle makes this much, much easier and less painful.
Kindle cons
  1. Feel-I miss the feel of reading a book, of holding it open and just devouring it’s contents.
  2. Smell-I miss the smell- Old book or new, the smell of books is amazing.
  3. Magpie-I can’t add the book to my collection.
  4. Spines-I  miss looking at spines on my shelf. The lack of books in my room is just sad
  5. Pride-I like people admiring my literary prowess when I’m on trains and planes. Like yes, I am reading Dostoyevsky, deal with it.
  6. Breaking-I miss breaking in a new book. The moment when you open that first page and the spine makes those thin lines. I miss that.
  7. Emotions-If I read a bad book, the bad emotions related to that book means I don’t like even looking at it. So whether I re
  8. Availability-Not all books exist on the Kindle. Which is frustrating.
  9. Bookshops- Because I have a Kindle, going in to a bookshop and buying an actual book feels a little wasteful-not cool.

The truth is, kindles are practical. They make my rather nomadic lifestyle, my sad bank account, my university work and my reading habits all co-exist in glorious harmony and right now, I have no intention of giving it up. But one day, when I have the money and my own home in which to display my glorious books, I will probably go out and buy the books I most enjoyed on my kindle- just to put them on my shelf. True story.

What are your thoughts?

4 Comments to “Kindle v.s. Spine”

  1. Hi

    Nice post. My bookshelf has become a wall of fame, as only amaxzing books end up there. If I enjoyed them that much on the kindle I will buy them.

    My views on kindle is here http://philipdeane.wordpress.com/2012/04/16/the-kindleonly-for-nerds/

  2. (LOL. I meant to post this days ago but I was in the hospital.)

    It’s kinda funny. I was going to put this into one of my ‘opinionated list/rant’ thingies, and then I get this alert. Dropped everything, in fact, to put in my 2¢ on the subject.

    I bought a Nook from Barnes and Noble (well technically I bought the device from Best Buy, since they beat the price by nine bucks (big when you make minimum wage). I bought it expressly for one reason: I live in a studio apartment. In fact I’m not positive it’s big enough to call a studio—it’s basially a fridge, stove, couch and bed. “Efficiency” is more like it. Anyway, because of my incredibly tiny living space, I had to do something, and selling my books in order to continue my reading habit—well, that was not something that I wanted to do. I love my books—they’re my page-babies. I felt like a traitor to the book-reading cause for a while. I mean, it’s a device, not a real BOOK! Egads! But after I jumped onto Project Gutenberg and grabbed most of the Sherlock canon, I felt a little less weird, and actually started to seriously love my reader—instant book? Heck yes!

    I do miss the new-book smell…and the old-book smell. And some things just seem to work better in print than in an e-book format—here I’m thinking of my collection of Rumi’s poems for example, or really, most holy books. And I can’t show off as easily with my Nook as I can with my over-stuffed, nearly falling-over bookshelf. And I can’t play color-pattern-arrangements with the electronic books.

    But conversely, I don’t have to spend ten minutes navigating a bookshelf for the one book I’m looking for, shore up the stack Indiana Jones-style with a DVD case so it doesn’t all fall over, and then hope I remembered the page. I can just search in the book with the ‘find’ command, and be set with the information I need. (Usual culprit: Chuck Wendig’s writing on writing.) Easy-pheasy.

    • I completely understand what you mean. The whole free books thing is also very excellent as I don’t really have a ‘local’ library at the moment but still have to reading (and obviously want to be) for my challenge so the free e-books situation is most excellent as far as I’m concerned. Also I loved the nine bucks comment, totally true. My friend once asked me why I bought the toilet paper which was 50p cheaper even though it wasn’t as nice and i said- on my wages, 50p is about 5 minutes of my time so for every 50p i save, I am saving 5 minutes of my time, so yeah i’m all with you there!

Leave a Reply

