3 reasons…

3 reasons I love blogging…

I think it’s safe to say that no one blogs regularly unless they enjoy it. I can think of no other reason to take time out of your day to ramble on in the hopes that someone, somewhere in the masses of people on the planet, actually gives two hoots about what you’re writing. But here are three concrete reasons I find it awesome.

1. It makes me a better reader

I’ll be honest, up until January this year I had pretty much shelved (terrible pun in the making, be warned) my reading habit. It became a thing of the past like- I used to read a lot when I was little. Although I stubbornly refused to relinquish my title as a book-lover I  was only reading 5-10 non university books in a year. Setting myself the challenge, and blogging about it, has motivated me. It shows me when I’ve been neglecting my loving paper friends. Like when, at the end of lent, (bearing in mind that Lent is 40 days and 40 nights) I had only actually COMPLETED one book. I had read many books, but not finished them. Terrible, but it made me get a move on. Without this blog I could hide my book shame, but I couldn’t. Because one of my readers would catch me out, would remind me that my goodreads counter was dangerously low.

2.  I meet people

I always thought blogging about books would make me a better reader but I never expected to meet so many lovely people. Can’t really get better than being able to connect with people who have similar interests.

3. It makes me a better writer

Like most book worms, I entertain often elaborate fantasies about writing and publishing the next big thing, pushing J.K Rowling off her Potter pedestal and having writers bow to my literary glory. When I return from the land of unlikely fantasies, I am often faced with my blog. It is here that I babble inanely about anything and everything that comes to mind and whilst I’m hardly the next Austen, blogging makes me more fluid, more engaged, less worried about what people think and more concerned about what I enjoy. And somehow- that seems to interest people too, making my writing dreams become just that little bit more likely..

So there are my three reasons. What are yours?.. 🙂

7 Comments to “3 reasons…”

  1. I think mine would be pretty similar. Blogging definitely keeps me reading and writing a lot, and I am amazed by some of the incredible people I have met through blogging. I love being able to discover new things in the world of books and music and everything I’m interested in, but also love sharing my discoveries with others. It’s been a very inspiring experience, to say the least!:)

  2. I agree with you, Book Bimbo. 🙂 I, too, indulge in those fantasies of writing and publishing. I have read thoughts and advice from successful authors and they encourage you to keep doing one thing– write. Diana Gabaldon said that the best thing one can do to further your writing career is to keep writing. Even if you don’t get any better, at least you’re not getting any worse. Or something like that. 🙂

    • I think that is probably excellent advice, but it’s just so hard to fit it into your schedule. I mean it’s the moment when you come home from work/ university whatever, and you’re so tired your brain is filled with white noise and all you can stomach is some sort of food, a brainless program and sweet sweet sleep. It’s times like that when I wish I could write for an hour but fitting it in is just so damn tiring. Do you write regularly? Other than blogging of course!

  3. Blogging helps me stay “connected” to people that share similar interests, it encourages my creativity, and also provides a writing outlet since I do not use my English-Writing degree in my profession (well, not the extent that I’d love to be able to use it!)

    • I also find it allows to me actually pay attention to the world of writing and reading and so on as I don’t really have the outlet for this in my life either! It’s rather wonderful all in all! 🙂

Leave a Reply

