A Discovery of Witches

Goodreads Synopsis: Deep in the stacks of Oxford’s Bodleian Library, young scholar Diana Bishop unwittingly calls up a bewitched alchemical manuscript in the course of her research. Descended from an old and distinguished line of witches, Diana wants nothing to do with sorcery; so after a furtive glance and a few notes, she banishes the book to the stacks. But her discovery sets a fantastical underworld stirring, and a horde of daemons, witches, and vampires soon descends upon the library. Diana has stumbled upon a coveted treasure lost for centuries-and she is the only creature who can break its spell.

My ramblings:  Possibly because I wasn’t expecting much of a book that I paid 99p for, I ended up actually quite enjoying this novel. My mind was not blown and I had difficulty getting into the book but I found myself getting drawn into the story (slightly ruined by disappointing ending) living the lives of the characters, and that is always fun. It’s about 70% cliche, and the rest is actually not bad reading material. Not a novel made to change your world, but a fairly entertaining read to send you off to sleep. It’s part of a trilogy, so I await to arrival of installments two and three with a very mild sense of excitement. In short, I would describe this book as (a far less nauseating) twilight story with some brutality and a bit of fun that is all its own. (Book written by Deborah Harkness)

Leave a Reply

