30 day book challenge- Day 29- A book that makes you cry

Before I write about this, I will clarify the title- it is not so much about a book that makes me cry, it is about a moment in a book that is so emotional, or a character written so well that something which happens them provokes a physical reaction. I don’t just bawl my way through the entire novel on the train- never fear!

Book one which makes me do this is Little Women by Louisa May Alcott. Alcott is a like an American Austen and what’s not to love about this heart warming novel that follows the lives of four sisters- Meg, Jo, Beth and Amy March as they turn into little women. Even though it’s been years since I’ve read it, Little Women is still a book (and film) that makes me cry- normally only when Beth dies as she is such a kind and sweet character whose death just seems to highlight everything that is wrong in the world. Being an only child I also spent a lot of my childhood being attracted by the idea of four sisters, so the death of Beth spoiled this perfect image of the four-child family.

Another book that makes me cry- or moment in a book, to be more exact, is actually the death of Dumbledore in Harry Potter. Something about that death is so utterly devastating to me that tears ran down my cheeks from the moment of his death till the end of the book. I even had to go ask my mum for a cuddle.

So there you have it- the two book moments that make me bawl more than any other!

2 Comments to “30 day book challenge- Day 29- A book that makes you cry”

  1. I’ve read Little Women every year since fourth grade and the chapter where Beth dies always makes me tear up – such a touching and tragic moment for the little family I love so much! And don’t even get me started on Dumbledore’s death. By the end of the last HP book I had such mixed feelings about him, but the hopelessness that his absence introduces to the world of the main characters really shakes things up. Both great emotional picks!

    I’m not much of a crier when it comes to books, but the story that made my bawl my eyes out – like literally, I had to leave the room to compose myself – was Million Dollar Baby. I don’t know if it was ever a book, but the movie was definitely emotional. For me it hasn’t been beaten yet in terms of tear-count. lol.

  2. Funny how it’s almost always the death of a character that induces crying from a book. The only moment I have ever actually cried, as in, tears running down my face cried, is in the second last chapter of Catch 22, and it’s not the death itself, which you become aware of near the start of the book (because it darts back and forth a lot), but the desperate struggle of another character trying to stay calm and hopeful as he tries to save this dying character, and then the sudden realisation that he can’t do it, and the complete hopelessness he feels from it – it just left me a wreck when I first read it.
    I have come close in a couple of other books, too. Think I got a bit wobbly at the end of The Book Thief, by memory.

Leave a Reply

