30 day book challenge- Day 5- A book that makes you happy

Book 1 that makes me happy- The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett.

The Secret Garden is a timeless classic which reminds me of my childhood. Mary Lennox, previously living a spoilt life in India (anything that even mentions India gets my attention) is sent to live with her uncle Archibald Craven. There she finds a secret garden, a young boy and a whole new personality. It is a beautiful story, and the film, more beautiful still.

Book 2 that makes me happy- the Little Princess, also by Frances Hodgson Burnett.

Burnett’s work reminds me of my childhood, where optimisim was the theme of the day. Here, Sara Crewe, also a child raised in India, is sent to boarding school so that her father can fight in WW1. When he is killed in action she must learn to survive under the cruel Miss. Minchin with only a servant girl as her friend.

With both books beautifully written,Ā I’m pretty certain the reason they make me happy is that they remind me of a time when everything seemed like it would have a happy ending.

4 Comments to “30 day book challenge- Day 5- A book that makes you happy”

  1. I remember seeing the film versions of both these stories when i was younger and always getting them mixed up – i feel like the stories are similarly told (which would make sense seeing as they’re both written by the same person). both are on my tbr list! As for a book that makes ME happy, i think i’d probably have to go with little women. i laugh, i cry, but by the end i’m always left with that warm feeling of being safe and happy šŸ™‚

    • I totally agree with the little women thing! I think it’s actually one of my books in this challenge! She is absolutely fascinating as a writer and I really love the film as well.

  2. I must confess, I am yet to read The Secret Garden! I have it, but I just haven’t found time to read it yet (among so many other books). But you are the umpteenth person to say it is good recently, so I really need to get on with it and read it, I think! šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

