30 day book challenge- Day 1-Best Book you read last year

So, the best book I read last year is The Wise Man’s Fear- the second book in the Kingkiller Chronicles by Patrick Rothfuss (The Name of the Wind being the first). I am very rarely truly blown away by fantasy these days- after you’ve read a few in the genre, things start getting incredibly predictable and forgettable- pleasant in the moment, but nothing more. These books are everything but. They are exquisitely written (rare in this genre) as well as having intricate characters, fresh ideas and intricate plot lines- for me, an under-sold Tolkein of its time. If you want more info on the actual plot and characters of this novel, just read my review of the first book– but more importantly, go out and buy both of them. Epic epic epicness of epicosity (That is a word)(Check out wantoncreation as the inspiration for this challenge).

7 Comments to “30 day book challenge- Day 1-Best Book you read last year”

  1. Hahaha that was my answer for Day 1 as well! Not that this is a bad thing, I agree with you, these books are both amazing, and Rothfuss is one of the most exciting things to happen in the fantasy genre in a long time. Also, this is a true story, he added me on facebook once. Not his fan page, but the real him. It was before he had become the huge international sensation that he now has, and I think I was the first Aussie to review his book, which I did on FB, and he somehow found me through this and thanked me. I don’t think I will ever forget that. 😀

  2. I should probably be more articulate – I’m glad an off the cuff suggestion for a good book turned out to be such a pleasure for you, BookBimbo.

Leave a Reply

