The Metamorphosis

So this short little book, written by Franz Kafka, is really just a world of strange. Not in a bad way, I actually quite enjoyed it, but it was odd nonetheless. The book follows a traveling salesman called Gregor Samsa who wakes up to find himself turned into a massive insect. Over the course of a couple of years  his family adjusts not only to him no longer supporting them financially, but to him in his new form- a giant bug. Obviously it is highly metaphorical (the last time I checked no-one randomly transforms into a giant bug) and can, and has, been read in a number of different ways which I won’t go in to for the sake of my reader’s sanity. What I found most interesting however was the theme of how money/ economics affects human relationships- Gregor is the only source of income for his family, and is thus valued, if not loved. As he becomes a financial burden, he looses his worth, and thus his ‘love’- a depressing but accurate aspect of human relationships. Gregor is a pitiful character, one who I couldn’t help but like and dislike in equal measure- but who is certainly one of the best written characters I’ve had the pleasure of knowing in a while. This short novella is definitely worth a read- as long as you don’t mind a bit of surrealism.

4 Comments to “The Metamorphosis”

  1. Hahaha, this was the first book I had to read when I started my first uni degree. I remember turning to my friend a few pages into this and saying “what have we gotten ourselves into this time?” But actually I really enjoyed the book (but my friend hated it :P)

Leave a Reply

